Gottingen St_7215

Wheelchair Reporter Life Threatened by Construction Crew on Barrington St. in Halifax

Please scroll down for full photo gallery.

Below you will find reports from Day One, Day Two, and Day 3.

Day One

What a horrible mess the City of Halifax has permitted and no City inspectors are present at this major problem. The Contractor doing the work is named “Lasey’s Landscaping”

(Note) I was told this street was named Gottingen St. There are no street names signs that I could see. So in my videos you will hear me say the wrong name of the street.

Gottingen St_7214

Wheelchair Report & Commentary – Barrington St Serious Mess due to Sidewalk Repairs

My Commentary

Gottingen St_7169

I will be returning to do follow up reports on this terrible situation on Wheelchair Reporter Life Threatened by Construction Crew on Barrington St.

The city inspector telephoned me late on the second day while he was on the road. He had no intention of coming over to speak with me on location. I told him I would be back again tomorrow and that I would like to speak with him about the serious safety issues going on here. I do not believe he will show his face. There has been no city inspectors on this site at any time.

Gottingen St_7203Gottingen St_7200

Click on image in gallery for more options and to read the text. Press F11 for full screen.

Day Two

Wheelchair Report – Barrington St Day 2 Insanity

(Note) I was told this street was named Gottingen St. There are no street names signs that I could see. So in my videos you will hear me say the wrong name of the street.

Today I was notified that all the businesses on this street were never given any notice as to the sidewalks being closed for this construction. Also that means that all the businesses were fully staffed. They could of reduced staff if they knew they were going to have much fewer customers.

This construction has caused traffic back ups through the whole downtown area. Think how much gasoline and diesel all this traffic is using. Add to that all the delivery businesses that also could not do there deliveries.

This is a multi video compilation of day 2. On day two the sidewalk on the other side was clear so wheelchairs could get through.

Wheelchair Report – Barrington St Super Dangerous Crosswalk (Parts 1 & 2)

Barrington St Day 2_7636Barrington St Day 2_7613

Barrington St Day 2_7397Barrington St Day 2_7325

Click on image in gallery for more options and to read the text. Press F11 for full screen.(photos coming soon)

Day 3

Photos coming soon.

Wheelchair Report – Barrington St Day 3

Leave a Reply

